Follow Roosevelt Jazz at Essentially Ellington

For the first time, the entire weekend of EE events, including the final concert featuring the three top-placing bands and the JLCO, will be webcast live on    Roosevelt performs Sunday May 12 1:-2:30PM EDT (that’s 10AM Seattle time – all times below are New York) .

The festival will be more media-accessible than ever:
~Facebook at
~Twitter @EssEllington
~Instagram @Jalcnyc
Students, viewers, and participators can share their thoughts and photos with us by using the hashtag #EE2013.

 Competition Schedule:

Part I: Saturday 2:30pm – 6:30pm
1.    Beloit Memorial High School, Beloit, WI
2.    American Music Program, Portland, OR
3.    Sun Prairie High School, Sun Prairie, WI
4.    Garfield High School, Seattle, WA
5.    Jazz House Kids, Montclair, NJ
6.    New World Center for the Arts, Miami, FL
7.    Edmonds-Woodway High School, Edmonds, WA

Part II: Sunday 10:00am – 12:00pm
8.    Badger High School, ake Geneva,
9.    Dillard Center for the Arts, Fort Lauderdale, FL
10.   Lexington High School, Lexington, MA
11.  Community Arts Program, Coral Gables, FL

Part III: Sunday  1:00pm – 2:30pm
12.   Foxboro High School, Foxboro, MA
13.   Rio Americano High School, Sacramento, CA
14.   Roosevelt High School, Seattle, WA
15.   Tucson Jazz Institute, Tucson, AZ
Final Concert & Awards Ceremony Sunday 7:30pm – 10:30??

Go Roosevelt!!!

Report from Reno

Roosevelt Jazz Bands 2 and 3 and Roosevelt Vocal Jazz are back from the Reno Jazz Festival! Honors and Awards include:

JB2 Combo- 1st place AA division
JB3 – 2nd place, Apprentice 1 division
Vocal Jazz Combo – 3rd place AA division
JB2 – 6th place AA division
Porter Jones – overall outstanding high school trombone!
And many more individual awards of merit.

Scott Brown Named to Earshot Jazz Hall of Fame

Last night, our fearless leader was named to Earshot Jazz Magazine’s Hall of Fame. Former student Kelly Barr accepted on Mr. Brown’s behalf, before members of the Seattle jazz community at an awards ceremony held at Tula’s. This is a special honor for Scott – thank you to everyone who cast their vote to help make this happen! See the story at