2018 Essentially Ellington Finalists!

Congratulations to Scott Brown and the musicians of Roosevelt Jazz Band I, selected as finalists for the 2018 Essentially Ellington High School Jazz Band Competition and Festival. They’ll be in some mighty fine company in NYC come May, including neighbors Ballard and Mountlake Terrace High Schools. For more information and a list of all the finalists, hop over to the Essentially Ellington website.

Our Big Band Gala is March 24!

Please join us for the 30th annual Roosevelt Jazz Big Band Gala on March 24, 2018 at The Brockey Center, South Seattle College. Get your tickets here. It will be a fun-filled evening of music, food, and the chance to bid on fabulous auction items. Buy some raffle tickets and get a chance to take home your choice of several fun gift baskets!

See you there on March 24!!

Hot Java Cool Jazz 2018

On Friday, March 30th, Roosevelt’s Jazz Band I will perform at Hot Java Cool Jazz.  Purchase your tickets now from Roosevelt Jazz Boosters.  This annual event, sponsored by Starbucks, is a terrific opportunity to see the top Seattle-area high school jazz bands perform. It’s also a huge fundraiser for our program, thanks to Starbucks’ generous donation of all proceeds from ticket sales to the five selected schools. We hope to see you there!

The show takes place downtown at the Paramount Theater; doors will open at 6pm for this 7pm show.

2017-18 Roosevelt Jazz Band Placements

Jazz Band 1 and Vocal Jazz students should be registered for these classes. The names have already been sent to the registrar. Be sure to confirm this when you receive your schedules. Note that Vocal Jazz is a zero hour (before school) class. If for any reason you cannot commit to the ensemble in which you were placed, please let us know immediately.

Mr. Brown, Mr. Van Bebber, Mr. Taylor

Jazz Band 1

Sean Bowman, alto 1
Misae Nguyen, alto 2
Daniel Mengedoht, alto 2
Elliot Halpern, tenor 1
Kai Despain, tenor 2
Aiden Ryser, tenor 2
Xander Johns, baritone 1
Austin Isgrig, baritone 2

Joe Garlid, 1
Will Knight, 2
Matt Buchanan, 3
Graham Fulton, 4
Carter Eng, 5
Aidan McCoy, 6

Ethan Nolander, 1
Elise Toney, 2
Nicholas Mesler, 3
Toby Jay, bass trombone

Rhythm Section
Aaron Korver, 1
Katie Benmar, 2
Bryan Rhinehart, 3
Julia Tanner, 1
Nick Swedin, 2
Jonah Harper, 1
Max Young, 2
Ethan LeFaive
David Maltby
Henry Mohr

NOTE: Only 25 players will be allowed to participate in Essentially Ellington, in the event we are accepted. There will be competition for spots on the recording band.

Vocal Jazz Rhythm Section

Kai Medina
P. J. McDaniel
Finn Greeley

Jazz Band 2

Elias Sullivan, alto 1
Elliot Hughes, alto 2
Karen Gaffney, alto 2
George Fulton, tenor 1
James Pettis, tenor 2
Nick Altemeier, tenor 2
David Tabakian, baritone

Colin Brace, 1
Devlin Swanson, 2
Ryan Davies, 3
Nathan Reudink, 4
Della Paloy, 5

Zach Sahlin, 1
Daniel Matsumoto, 2
Alexis Kim, 3
Ryan Tyndall, bass trombone

Rhythm Section
Eilidh Haakanson
Kohl Hebert
Nathan Mesler
Laurel Colescott, 1
Anna Thielke, 2
Aidan Shapero
Ethan Bovey

Jazz Band 3

Maria Mann, alto 1
Nicholas Araya-Bain, alto 2
Sydney Colescott, alto 2
Griffin Sanders, tenor 1
Eli Corey, tenor 1
Em Spencer, tenor 2
Olivia Sayrs, tenor 2
Sana Mills, tenor 2
Roberto Kannapell, baritone

Rei Ichikawa, 1
Stephen Shettler, 2
Will Falcone, 3
Sylvie Kromer, 4

Jack Barnes, 1
Willie Berg, 2
Josh Peterson, 3
Aaron Kim, 4 (waitlist)

Rhythm Section
Joe Begley
Faye Alesse
Nikko Oster
Nick Zappone
Cameron Tavis

Jazz Band 4

Annalise Bledsoe, alto 1
Jackson Jewett, alto 1
Julia Martin, alto 2
Cole Andrews, tenor 1
Abbie Chipps, tenor 2
Ella Ruddick, tenor 2
Calvin Rey, baritone

Grady Spors, 1
Henry Roller, 2
Carter Robinson, 3
Daniel Khastou, 4

Bergen Sorby, 1
Casey Rogers, 2
WE NEED TROMBONES! (Encourage your trombone-playing friends to play some JAZZ!)

Rhythm Section
Vladimir Andral
William Stauber
Ellis Andral
Jacob Gronquist
Dylan Wilson
Soloman Kruger
Emma Usui-Villareal

Roosevelt Vocal Jazz Placements for 2017-2018

Listed below are the students selected for Roosevelt Vocal Jazz 2017-2018. If for any reason you cannot commit to the group in which you have been placed, LET US KNOW IMMEDIATELY. There are other students who would like to sing! NOTE: Vocal Jazz has been moved to zero hour (before school) for next year. All Vocal Jazz students will need to register for a concert ensemble.

Abbey Amuniya
Jane Anderson
Brigit Brady
Mia Bell
Katya Boychuk
Xing Gilbert
Brooke Lambert
Desi Pardo
Sarah Park
Scarlet Pike
Caroline Schmitt
Harrison Sherwood
Azalea Teuton
Markus Teuton
Nicole Torres

Congratulations and thank you to everyone who auditioned!

*Rhythm section placements to be announced at a later date.