Essentially Ellington 2018

Congratulations to director Scott Brown and the students of Roosevelt Jazz Band I for their performance at the 2018 Essentially Ellington Competition and Festival. In addition to their many section and soloist awards, the band received an Honorable Mention, its highest finish in the competition since 2013.

Section awards were: Honorable Mention, Drummers (Ethan Lefaive, David Maltby, Henry Mohr); Outstanding Saxophone Section (Sean Bowman, Kai Despain, Elliot Halpern, Xander Johns, Daniel Mengedoht, Misae Nguyen, Aiden Ryser).

Soloist awards were: Outstanding Piano (Aaron Korver); Honorable Mention, Alto Saxophone (Sean Bowman); Outstanding Tenor Saxophone (Elliot Halpern, Aiden Ryser); Outstanding Baritone Saxophone (Xander Johns).

Check out the complete list of EE 2018 awards. We are so very grateful for the folks of Jazz at Lincoln Center, and for our fellow performers, who made this event truly special.