Welcome to our new JB2/3 Director

We are very excited to welcome Michael Van Bebber as our JB2/3 director!

Michael was raised in Seattle, and graduated from the University of Washington before going on to earn two M.A. degrees in classical trumpet and composition at Truman State University, and a D.M.A. in Jazz Studies from the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY. He performed many years as a member of the renowned Eastman Jazz Ensemble, and has shared the stage with many notable jazz artists including Lee Konitz, John Pizzarelli, the Woody Herman Band, Walt Weiskopf, Chuck Mangione, Jeff Beal, Walter White, John Fedchock, Pat LaBarbara, Marvin Stamm, and Bill Dobbins. He has also appeared several times at the Rochester International Jazz Festival, in both quintet and big band settings.

Michael is a member of the Seattle Repertory Jazz Orchestra. As a composer, he has earned several prestigious awards in composition, including the 2004 MACRO Composition/Theory Award, the 2005 CBDNA Wind Ensemble National Composition Competition, the 2005 College Music Society’s International Composition Competition. Michael has been the director of the Junior Jazz Band at Washington Middle School, the Director of Bands at Liberty High School and the interim director for JB2 last year. Michael is currently on the faculty of Northwest school.

Roosevelt Jazz Placements for 2015-16

New Vocal Jazz (1st )* and Jazz Band (5th) students MUST be sure to register for the class! If for any reason you cannot commit to the group in which you have been placed, LET US KNOW IMMEDIATELY. There are other students who would like to play!Thank you for auditioning and congratulations!!-Mr. Brown

* Vocal Jazz has been moved to Period One for next year.

Jazz Band I

Jesse Beckett-Herbert, alto 1
Sean Bowman, alto*
Madeline Toll, alto*
Aisling Doyle-Wade, alto*
Santosh Sharma, tenor 1
Elliot Halpern, tenor 2
Xander Johns, tenor 2*
Colin Cahill, baritone*

Ben Sahlin
Jack Bylund
Thomas Hinds*
Francis Nyssen*
Lily Schwartz*
Matt Gasper*
Sophie Aanerud*

Porter Jones
Tom Maul
Elise Toney*
Nyal McCrea*

Leo Folsom
Rehka Olsen*

Ravi Sharma
Rusty Farivar*

Tony Lefaive
Jack Hanish*
Cormac Liotta*

David Maltby*
Ethan Lefaive*
Sam Clement*

*These students will audition to be eligible for the Essentially Ellington recording ensemble.

Jazz Band II

Misae Nguyen, alto 1
Luciano de la Iglesia, alto 1
Daniel Mengedoht, alto 2
Anthony Lutenko, alto 2
Arthur Lindhjem, tenor 1
Aidan Ryser, tenor 1
Kai Despain, tenor 2
Lincoln Trelease, tenor 2
Austin Isgrig, baritone
Dylan Korver, baritone

Joe Garlid
Matt Buchanan
Carter Eng
Aidan McCoy
Gavin Susalsky

Mari Kramer
Lily Brammer
Zach Sahlin
Ethan Nolander

Zain Wedemeyer
Eli Sheldon
Katie Benmar

Julia Tanner

Max Young
Bazyl Carrol

Nate Koidahl
Henry Mohr

Jazz Band III

Sander Fogarty, alto 1
Olin Sorby, alto 1
Nicholas Araya Bain, alto 2
Karen Gaffney, alto 2
James Pettis, tenor 1
Kaiya Nishimo, tenor 1
Isabella Escobedo, tenor 2
Will Brown, tenor 2
Gabriel Sanchez, tenor 2
Henry Sanford, tenor 2
David Tabakian, baritone

Will Knight
Ryan Davies
Ferdos Al-Haider (pending waitlist)
Graham Fulton
Anders Bloom
Linus Senter
Jackson Baker

Theo Ramels
2 openings for trombone!
Toby Jay (tuba and bass trb.)

Bryan Rhinehart
Kai Medina

Simon Appel

Laurel Colescott
Maddie Herbst

Sophia Bondi
Benny Bruvold
Satchel Schwartz

Roosevelt Vocal Jazz!
New and Returning members for 2015-16 school year.
New members, please be sure to immediately make an appointment to register for 1st Period, Vocal Jazz for BOTH semesters. Congratulations!!

Ava Yaghmaie
Maya Hunter
Sammie Cohen
Laura Madsen

Caroline Brammer
Eliana Colachis-Glass (also tenor)
Brigit Brady
Gabriella Green

Miles Trieger
Nelson Lobo
Phillip Solheim

Sam Skalbania
Max Taylor
Ravi Sharma

Aaron Korver

Kammy Yedor
Nick Swedin

Upright Bass
Jonah Harper

Thomas Symons

Jazz Band Returning to Essentially Ellington

The Roosevelt Jazz Band was named as one of the finalists in the prestigious Essentially Ellington Festival, held May 7-8 in New York. This will be the 16th time in 17 years that Roosevelt has received this honor.

Two other schools from our region, Mount Si and Garfield will also be competing this year (the same lineup as last year).

Essentially Ellington is presented by Jazz at Lincoln Center, the jazz nonprofit headed by Wynton Marsalis.